In This Section

Flaura K. Winston, MD, PhD
Flaura K. Winston
Founder and Former Director, Center for Injury Research and Prevention

Dr. Winston is a pediatrician, engineer, and public health researcher who has established the scientific foundation behind new patents, products, programs, policies, and laws for injury. As a clinician-scientist/innovator, Dr. Winston leads CHOP's Innovation Ecosystem and released a free e-textbook, Academic Entrepreneurship for Medical and Health Scientist.



Subscribe to be notified of changes or updates to this page.

7 + 11 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.


Dr. Flaura Koplin Winston is the distinguished chair in the Department of Pediatrics at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and a tenured professor of pediatrics at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. 

At CHOP, she is the founder and former director of both the National Science Foundation Center for Child Injury Prevention Studies and the Center for Injury Research and Prevention, and she leads the CHOP Innovation Ecosystem Initiative. Her interdisciplinary background in medicine, engineering, and public health has allowed her to conduct research at the interface of child and adolescent health, injury, technology, and behavior, which led her to establish the scientific foundation dedicated to the principal cause of child death—injury—while also building and leading effective multi-stakeholder healthcare and prevention teams. 

Her “research-to-action-to-impact” approach to academic entrepreneurship has led to new patents, products, programs, policies, and laws, as well as a CHOP spin-out technology company called Diagnostic Driving, Inc. 

For her scientifically rigorous and impactful work, in 2017 she was elected to the National Academy of Medicine.

Education and Training

BSE, University of Pennsylvania (Bioengineering), 1983

MSE, University of Pennsylvania (Bioengineering), 1984

PhD, University of Pennsylvania (Bioengineering), 1989

MD, University of Pennsylvania, 1990

Fellowship, University of Pennsylvania (Bioengineering), 1991

Fellowship, Johns Hopkins University (Injury Prevention), 1995

Titles and Academic Titles

Distinguished Chair in the Department of Pediatrics at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Professor of Pediatrics, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine

Founder and Former Director, Center for Injury Research and Prevention

Director, National Science Foundation Center for Child Injury and Prevention Studies (CChIPS)

Director, Innovation Ecosystem, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Professional Memberships

Fellow, American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineers, 2011 - present

Member, American Pediatric Society, 2014 - present

Member, National Academy of Medicine, 2017

Distinguished Fellow, Annenberg Center for Public Policy Research, 2017-present

Associate Editor, Injury Prevention, a British Medical Journal publication, 2008-present

Scholar, Fulbright Specialist Roster, 2012-2014

Professional Awards

Elected as Honorary Fellow, Royal College of Physicians of Ireland, 2019

Elected as Member, National Academy of Medicine, 2017

Elected as Member, American Pediatric Society, 2014

Specialist, Fullbright Roster, 2012

Excellence in Science Award, American Public Health Association, 2009

National/International Health Impact Award, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2008

AcademyHealth Health Services Research Impact Award, 2007

Fellow Achievement Award, American Academy of Pediatrics, 2007

John M Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award, Individual Achievement, National Quality Forum and The Joint Commission, 2007

Daland Award for Outstanding Achievement in Patient-Oriented Clinical Research, American Philosophical Society, 2003

U.S. Government Award for Special Appreciation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Department of Transportation, 2003

Peter O'Rourke Special Achievement Award, National Association of Governors Highway Safety Representatives, 2002

World Trafffic Safety Award, GNYADA, 2001

Achievement Award, Section on Injury and Poison Prevention, American Academy of Pediatrics, 1996

Publication Highlights

Links of Interest